Sometimes Life Sucks

So for the past month I’ve been sick. It started out with cold like symptoms and I was coughing a ton, but I also wasn’t sure if it was just allergies because my nose itched like crazy. Finally after three weeks of no improvement I went to the doctor and found out I had bronchitis. Then after another week with antibiotics I still wasn’t getting much better, so I went back to the doctor and got some more antibiotics for a sinus infection. I’m getting better, but I’m still not 100%. Being sick has made things like practicing my flute difficult. I’ve also been exhausted all the time so I can’t get as much school work done. It’s been challenging trying to keep up for the last month of school, and I’ve done pretty well, but it’s been so hard to stay motivated when all I can think of is getting some sleep as a I cough up a lung.

Motivation is a tricky thing. As much as I wanted to feel motivated, I just couldn’t get going. I would try to do my homework but I was always so exhausted to get it all done. What I’ve realized however, is sometimes you’re doing your best and that’s all you can do. You can’t let the things around you that you can’t control deter you. As long as you work as hard as you can, no one can blame you.

Anyways, motivational speech aside, I was having a pretty crappy month. Barely anything was going right and I just felt super discouraged. So I was at my house when my Pastor randomly showed up. She had brought me this little fleece blanket called a Prayer Shawl that some ladies at my church had made for me because I was sick. After having such a rough time lately, this was exactly something I needed. Just that small little gesture of love made me feel much better. And maybe I sound pathetic, but it kind of cheered me up a little bit. So, maybe if you know someone who is having an awful time, you should do something nice for them. It doesn’t have to be anything like making them a blanket, although that was very nice. You could just say hi or give them a compliment and it would probably make them feel a little better at least.

So if life sucks, as it tends to do, try to keep going. And if on the off chance that life isn’t sucking right now for you, try to make someone else feel better. 🙂

Leave a Reply

