I Got Hit In the Head With A Stick Tonight

So, this may be really random, and it doesn’t have much, or anything to do with music, but hear me out. Tonight at youth group, we were practicing our yearly Easter play. This year’s play is titled Who Will Be His Witnesses, and is about a bunch of Roman soldiers who guarded Jesus’ tomb the night before his resurrection. Being Roman soldiers requires spears, not real spears of course, but for our purpose, a long wooden dowel with a semi-pointy end. So,  I got hit in the head with one of these make-shift spears, by none other than my very own brother.

As I’m sure you can all imagine, I was so angry I could have killed him. Not only did it hurt like hell, but it surprised me! I really didn’t see that one coming, although I should have. What did I expect to happen when a bunch of stupid teenage boys were given fake, but apparently still dangerous, weapons? Needless to say, I was very angry, even when my brother apologized for the accident.

After the play practicing was over, we went about our usual routine of dinner and discussion. Our youth leader began by making us listen to “Hit ‘Em Up Style” by Blu Cantrell, which is about a woman who gets revenge on a man who cheated on her by spending all his money. Then we read a passage out of the Bible.

But I say unto you, That ye resist not evil: but whosoever shall smite thee on thy right cheek, turn to him the other also. -Matthew 5:39

It was strange, but the song and the passage actually connected with each other. And on top of that, it even applied to what had happened earlier. Although I was really angry at my brother, I ended up “turning the other cheek.” I could have gotten back at him, but  I chose not to, and in the long run I felt better about it. Sure, the whole thing gave me a justifiable reason to kick my brother’s ass (not that I actually could, because he happens to be quite a bit stronger than me), but it wouldn’t have made me feel any better.

In a way I think people need to apply this concept more in their everyday lives. You don’t even have to be religious or believe in God at all, to show forgiveness to others. Even if my brother hadn’t been sorry, the right thing still would have been for me to forgive him. I know it sounds crazy, but it really is the thing you should do. If you’re skeptical, check this out. It makes a good point that too often people use the “just war” theory in avoiding this concept of turning the other cheek. I hate sounding cheesy, but think of what the world could be like if we all restrained ourselves from plotting revenge on someone who did us wrong.

 

Leave a Reply

