Getting Ready For Life

As the end of my junior year approaches, I am constantly reminded that I will soon be off to college to begin my life. With that, comes the stress of deciding what I want to be “when I grow up.” As I mentioned in a previous post of mine, I am interested in pursuing music education in college. While this could easily change, I came to this choice after making several realizations and considerations. My whole life I have wanted to be a teacher, but I didn’t really realize that I would be interested in being a band director until I actually became involved in music. Then I began teaching lessons to two different girls on both flute and piano, which I love! Finally, I have an amazing band director. He is the reason I love band so much, and he has inspired me to want to do the same thing for others.

With all this in mind, I encourage you to really think about things you are really passionate about and love doing when thinking about what you want as a career. I know it’s highly possible for me to change my mind about this, but for now, I am satisfied with this choice because it is something I absolutely love.

The reason why I’m talking about all this, is because last Friday I went on my first college visit at Iowa State University. While I was there, I was able to meet with Dr. Golemo, the Director of Bands. He gave me some very important advice that I think is worth sharing. He told me that where ever I end up going, I need to make sure that the flute instructor there will be someone I admire and respect. Sure, this seems obvious, but I believe that it’s very important to really look up to your private instructor. You need to be able to work with someone who will really inspire you!

I may not know much, or anything at all about this whole college thing, but coming from the people around me who I trust, it seems that what ever I, or anyone else, decides to do in college, it should be something that you are passionate about. All the other things will work themselves out as long as you choose something you love and won’t give up on!

Leave a Reply

