The List

It’s that time of year when all my family members are asking me “What do you want for Christmas?”

As a child, I always knew exactly what I wanted, whether it was that cool Color Wonder set, or the Polly Pocket Mall. Now, I find it more difficult to come up with that list of things I want, but why?

The obvious answer would be that Christmas has been ridiculously commercialized. It goes all the ways back to Black Friday, which in my opinion is one of the most embarrassing “holidays” that people have ever come up with. I’m not saying that I haven’t been brainwashed into loving a good sale as well, but the way some people act just makes me sick. In fact, Black Friday has practically taken over Thanksgiving, a holiday meant to be spent with family reflecting on all the things we have to be thankful for.

Anyways, my main point here isn’t supposed to be that I hate Black Friday. Let me explain.

Throughout the last few years of my life, I have been much more exposed to the world, than I was as a child. There are awful things that have happened, and are happening that I never knew about. I have learned so much that has really changed my view on a lot of things, especially during this time of year, Christmas.

One thing that has really changed how I think about things, is my Environmental Science class. There’s so much I’ve learned that makes me a bit of a misanthrope, but I’ll focus on one thing today. We just finished up a unit on world population and urbanization, and last week we watched a movie called “World in the Balance.” It talked about the growing populations in India and Sub-Saharan Africa, but it also showed how much people in those countries suffer. What really stood out to me, was the treatment of women in India. Often times, the women are beaten and burned if they do not produce a son, which is pretty twisted, considering the male is the one determines the sex of a child by the chromosome he contributes.

I just find it hard to be asking for things I want this year knowing a lot of people have really hard lives. It just doesn’t seem fair to be making a list of things I want, when there are people all over the world starving and dying from preventable things. As my friend told me, rather than letting yourself feel guilty, be thankful for all that you have been given this year!

photo-3-640x460

Leave a Reply

