#MerryChristmas

So I was trying to decide what to blog about today, when my mom suggested Christmas cards on social media. Naturally, I thought it was a perfect idea, considering I have a lot to say on that topic. I’m not saying that there aren’t some good things that can come from social media, like spreading awareness of important issues or keeping in touch with those who live far away, but overall, I’m not huge fan of social media.

social-wishlist

 

I used to have Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, but I have since gotten rid of all three of my accounts within the last year. I have found that it has really changed me. Spending time on social media took up so much time that I now have for other things.

I also have a problem with people constantly attached to their phone. There have been so many times when I was trying to talk to someone, but they were too busy on their phone to really listen to me. I know they aren’t intentionally trying to be rude, but it is. I’m not saying that I’ve never done this before, but I really try not to, knowing how it feels when it’s done to you. I also dislike the way people can hide behind social media and texting. It’s ridiculous to see people subtweeting, or breaking off relationships with a text. If you have a problem with someone say it to their face.

Yet another thing I hate about social media, is how it changes my perception of people. I have lost a lot of respect for people I know, just by seeing how they act on social media. I honestly think that many people have much better personalities in real life than they do online, and I don’t want what I see on social media to change what I think of people.

So let’s get back to what originally inspired this post: Christmas cards. It’s becoming more common for people to simply post a picture of their family with a generic “Happy Holiday’s!” attached to it. It just seems so impersonal. I’d rather receive something in the mail that says “I thought of you when I sent this out.” I know we all have busy lives, especially during the holiday season, but in my opinion, an all-encompassing post is the easy way out. 

I realize that not everyone is going to agree with my opinion on social media, and that I sound like a grumpy person unwilling to keep up with the times of technology, but maybe try to see things from my point of view. It may even be beneficial to take a break from social media for a little bit. I learned a lot, and maybe you could too. For the remainder of this holiday season, I challenge you to take the extra time to send a personal card or give a call to someone to show that you were thinking of them!

Leave a Reply

